Trip Reports

Gap Mountain

Each Friday I have picked different mountains for Aubrey and I to hike throughout the summer. Friday was Gap, this would be the second time Aubrey has hiked it on her own. The first time was a year ago and it took us 5 hours and 15 minutes so I was excited to see how long it would take us a year later. 

I had posted the hike for members of the group, but no one showed so Aubrey and I set off on our own. I gave her an old camera I found in a junk drawer so the idea of taking pictures of her hike made the hurt that none of her friends showed up to hike with her. I think in the first 10 minutes she had already taken 100 pictures! 

The trail was in great condition, the Society for the Protection of NH Forests had done a lot of work earlier in the summer and it was well noticed! The biggest improvement was the new bridge they added to cross the brook. No more broken and wobbly planks to cross! Very impressed. 

The rest of the hike was pretty uneventful, Aubrey loved the scrambles near the top, so I can’t wait to take her up Monadnock, she will love it. We made it up in just over the hour, both excited to snack on blueberries, but when we reached them, they were either green or overripe and black. The few blue ones were very sour so we didn’t pick as many as we hoped. 

Since we had no friends along for the hike, and Aubrey had a golf date with Brammy in the afternoon we headed down after just a short break. Just like the way up, down was uneventful. Except for the old lady who thought I was pregnant, don’t women know you never say that shit?! 

We made it back to our cars and I checked our watches and we finished the entire hike in 2 hours and 50 minutes. We crushed our last time, it’s awesome to see how far Aubrey has come in just a year. 

Published via WordPress App 

